Seven – Making a Start (FMP)

Blog The Week

This is the first blog post I’m writing since starting my Final Major Project (FMP). In this post I’ll be talking about my initial ideas and research.

For my FMP I am planning to create a sonic art piece, focus on what I like to call ‘Sublime Horror’, or a certain kind of supernatural fear that I believe is most brilliantly employed in The Willows – by Algernon Blackwood. The piece is going to be narratively similar to The Willows, though I would not like to take on the responsibility of calling it an adaptation. I’m not entirely sure what form this will take, but I would like to create something episodic and reflective of the key themes I’ve identified in The Willows – and other similar stories.

I’ve been researching the creation of electroacoustic music, which is absolutely fascinating. It’s like learning about the ground-works of cinematography all over again. The only issue is, I’ve had serious difficulty knowing where to start and so I’ve spent a lot of my time studying particular techniques I’m not really sure how to apply yet. Alongside this general enquiry into the music ‘genre’, I have been looking into creating two sounds I’d like to feature heavily in my finished piece. The first is the sounds of indistinguishable voices, which I hope to use as a motif for the willows themselves, and the sound of the river flowing, which I would like to morph in such a way I can use a simple constant tone to represent the river while other musical element take the foreground.

In addition to the technical research I have also been looking into the Sublime. I am currently working on an essay entitled ‘The Human Sublime’ an effort to express my feelings and thoughts on the role the Sublime plays in contemporary culture. I believe, quite strongly, that its traditional role is rapidly becoming less terrifying and awesome, and becoming a tool to comfort, while more human fears are placed in the spotlight. I’ll post that essay here when I’m happy with the finished piece.

Leave a Reply

